FAQ – Cub Scout Basics

Q: What is Cub Scouts?  How does it all work?

Scouts BSA has a great new video to answer all of these questions.  Let us know if you have any more.


Q: Who can join Cub Scouts?

Cub Scout Pack 404 is a Family Cub Scouting Pack.  We are open to boys and girls in grades K-5.  For more information about girls in Cub Scouting and the new Lions (Kindergarten) program, please visit our page about Girls & Lions.


Q: What Den will my Scout be in?

Dens are arranged by age and my gender.  Boys and girls have separate dens at each grade level.  The den names (and ranks they are working towards) are as follows:

Lion, Tiger, Wolf, Bear, Webelos, Arrow of Light


Q: What is the difference between Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts?

The primary difference is the age groups.  The Cub Scout program is for Kindergarten to 5th grade (5yr – 10.5yr), where as Boy Scouts is designed for older boys 6th grade and above (11yr – 18yr).

Additionally, Cub Scouting is “parent led”.  Parents and leaders are fully engaged in each activity and outing, leading and teaching the young Scouts in the Pack.

Boy Scouting, on the other hand, is “boy led”.  The older boys teach the skills, lead their patrols (the Boy Scout version of dens), and impart the Scouting Principles to the younger Scouts.  Adult leaders are there to help and advise the older Scouts.

The Webelos (a portmanteau of “We’ll Be Loyal Scouts”) program in Cub Scouting serves as a transition between Cub Scouting and Boy Scouting.  Webelos begin to learn more tangible Scouting skills like camping and cooking.

Webelos are expected to be more independent.  They are able to camp as a den (other dens are only able to camp as part of a Pack event), and the Arrow of Light (Webelos 2nd year) group will even do some camping with local Boy Scout Troops.